Touring Tasmania – Huon Peninsula

Kettering Marina in the rain, but with swans – Click to embiggen

I couldn’t figure out how to embed a Google map – WP didn’t seem to like it so here is a link to where I drove on this outing

Map of Tasmania and Huon Peninsula

Started in Cambridge on the right side of Hobart, through the city heading west and then south through Kingston, Margate and Kettering and all the way around to Huonville and then back to the city.  Left about 8am, got home about 4pm with many stops for photos, and lunch etc.  Was a good drive even with the rain – was the only day it rained on me all day in the entire 12 days I was there.

By now much research had been done, and circles were drawn on the map for places to stop.  Sometimes I remembered why when I got there.  Kettering was one of those places I had no idea by the time I got there, but there was a pretty marina full of lovely boats so I drove down the hill and ventured out to take photos.  It was a brief pause in the rain but you could see from the clouds, more was not far away.

Kettering Marina – click for the large version in Black and White

While I was taking photos a man approached me, asking why I bothered when the light was dull and flat.  My reply was that the sky was fantastically moody and would look awesome in BW – click on the image above to see the big version in BW.

As he was walking away I asked him if there was a reason why I might have circled Kettering on the map – explaining I was a tourist and forgetful 🙂  He asked me what things I liked, and my reply was food, crafts, art, gardens etc.  After a thoughtful pause he pointed up the hill and said Chocolate Shop!

These look like our Pukeko but with scary red eyes!

OMG it was a fabulous shop Nutpatch Nougat and Chocolates, of course it was Easter and the tiny shop front was packed with people.  They had made a 1m high egg, still setting in its plastic mould, it was to be broken open and eaten on Easter Sunday by the locals. The chocolates were brightly coloured and many tempting flavours so I got a box of 16 to take away and they were the BEST chocolates I have ever eaten.

Much driving awaited me, so back on the road and the weather closed in.  Rained pretty heavily in stages and was a howling wind when I got out.  The coastline was mostly rocky beaches with a few patches of sand, the rock was orange brown and blocky sharp pointed broken edges, difficult to walk on.

I am not quite sure where I am on the map at this point, so that faint headland in the middle could be Bruny Island or more of Tasmania, I’m not sure.

There were many lovely buildings in the small settlements I passed by, I stopped in Woodbridge as there were these two lovely buildings restored and in use, across the street from each other.

Community Hall so nicely painted, and the public toilets were round to the left through a pretty cottage garden – Click to Embiggen

At Woodbridge I could have gone inland to Cygnet, which is where I planned to stop for lunch, but there was plenty of time, the roads were mostly free of traffic (the odd slow farm truck now and then) and when the sun came out it was quite lovely, plus I wanted to see the coastline for myself.

I think this is down by Verona Sands, I have hit the bottom and starting to come up the other side and there were patches of sun.  Almost got stuck in incredible thick sticky yellow clay and had to scrape about 2 inches of it off the bottom of my shoes before getting back in the car!

Wild Windy unknown bay – click to embiggen

The other side of the bay with iconic eucalyptus right down to sea level – click to embiggen

Saw a sign saying lookout 100m and took the next turn.  There was no lookout but the road took me down to a very pretty Randall’s Bay.  Lots of baches and holiday homes and it looked like a nice place to swim on a hot day.

Cliffs at Randalls Bay in a moment of sunlight – click to embiggen

There was a road around the intriguingly named Eggs and Bacon Bay, but it was shingle, and couldn’t drive the rental car on shingle, so turned around and came back up the hill.

This old farm house that looks like its still lived in is just begging for a grunge treatment – click to embiggen

Saw this old farmhouse on the way down so grabbed a shot in a beam of sunlight on the way back up the hill, this is just begging for a grunge treatment to age and texture it up nicely 🙂

Finally some mossy branches I saw in Randalls Bay

Still more to come on the Huon Peninsula trip – I stopped in Cygnet for lunch and there were loads of fabulous old buildings.  I wanted to head down to Geeveston but the weather was so variable and I was starting to get a bit tired of driving by then so headed home, where it pretty much rained the entire time back to Hobart!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Touring Tasmania – Huon Peninsula

  1. You’re putting Tasmania on the map for me … would love to visit 🙂 Love your collection of moody sky shots and the way the light highlights the scenes.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Stick around, there are LOTS more images to come, I really enjoyed Tasmania, I though 12 days would be enough but it wasn’t at all enough time to see everything but it was all easily driveable. Recommend it happily!

  2. leecleland says:

    Enjoyed the great shots and the stormy skies added to the drama. Thanks for including the link to the map I couldn’t remember where those places were it’s about 10 years since I was down in Tassie and far to long ago, must go again soon. Loved the lonely eucalypts right on the beaches edge. Looking forward to lots more images.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I needed the map cos I couldnt remember where I had gone ie the names of the places in the right order plus its nice for other people to see it on a map, gives more context and scale. I will do map links for other posts as well as I head out into the wilderness of the rest of the island soon.

      I was surprised at the trees growing right to the edge of the coastline, I don’t think of eucalyptus as shoreline trees usually!

      • leecleland says:

        Oh goodie about the maps, I love maps so following your trips around the Apple Isle will be great. I think in a lot of places the eucalypts have been cut down because they spoil the view 😦 In the less touristy spots like these they really add to the view I think.

  3. Great series of photos.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

