One Four Challenge – Wk 3 July

Here we are at the usually difficult Week 3 of the One Four Challenge, where you have used up all your usual tricks and wanting to save the best stuff for the last week šŸ™‚

On my Awake course I am lucky to get to see amazing art from many talented people, and even better, when you ask how they did X, they tell you!

This is my variation on the Painting In Progress technique, helpfully explained by the talented Katie Pertiet, artist and contributor of wonderful goodies to both the PA and Awake course.

First, before I tell you how I did it, I want to show you this version, which I bodged together out of what I could make PS do – its a bit different because it has coloured lines (I liked the effect) and I didn’t know how to do the painted look so well so I used a filter effect instead.Ā  It also has a reversed grunge effect that unintentionally gave the colour swirls in the corners which I also liked.

CLICK ON EITHER IMAGE TO EMBIGGEN!

Post Processing Steps for Top Image:

1.Ā  Import image into PS and duplicate layer, and hide base layer

2.Ā  Run Filter > Stylise > Find edges

3.Ā  Run Image > Adjustments > Desaturate and then Levels and adj the white/grey/black tones.Ā  I went for a slightly more textured look that was a bit greyer as it lost the details in the steps and stuff if I didn’t.

4. Copy Background to layer and move to top – create a black mask and paint with a large white textured grungy brush, mucking about til I had the look I wanted.

5. Create a blank layer and fill with white and drag in as Layer 2 to give the clean white background.

Its not true to the technique but a much better attempt than my first one I think.

All Feedback and Comments and Offers of Advice Welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to One Four Challenge – Wk 3 July

  1. leecleland says:

    I do like this technique Stacey and can hardly wait until I get further into the basics so I can get my head around it all. I like the final image because it really focuses our eyes on the lamppost and entryway in the centre. The brush work works well to give that unfinished painterly effect. Great one, you really are off and running on AWAKE aren’t you šŸ™‚

    • lensaddiction says:

      I cheated and asked how it was done, its from Session 5. I had seen some images done in this style and thought that with the lines of the buildings it would work really well. Its not the perfect watercolour style as I didn’t have the right brushes but I like the more grungy effect esp in the more lighter painted parts of the image where it shows the testure a bit more šŸ™‚

      Ive just started part 3 of Mod 3 which is all the custom brushes and stuff which is lots of fun. I have a HUGE collection of brushes and now I know how to make my own too šŸ™‚

      • leecleland says:

        Sounds really exciting, I’ll just have to get moving and get through all this other stuff. It does take time trying things and then going back to see what I missed when it doesn’t work šŸ™‚

      • lensaddiction says:

        I am always surprised at how long it does take with a lot of these experiments – but I do fluff around a lot, trying lots of different textures and styles and stuff šŸ™‚

  2. Joanne says:

    How fantastic – LOVE what you did with the photo this week!

  3. Sue says:

    Love it! I need to learn some photoshop stuff!

  4. Robyn G says:

    I’m one of those who signed up to PA – I knew about it because of you…and I’m very glad I did!
    I must admit I haven’t got to the creative stuff yet, but am working through the modules methodically and lately, sporadically due to bad internet and well, work.
    You are so right – I really love this effect – so creative and makes me think of my printmaking, drawing and painting days all in one!
    A fabulous edition and an awesome week 3!! Really good to see both, but the first one is very appealing!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Oh good I am slowly spreading the word like a virus šŸ™‚ It is a fantastic course and ideal for people partaking in the challenge who might want to learn to use Photoshop to be creative.

      Honestly its blowing my mind the stuff I see on the Awake course and you can see even in the two images here such a difference – one with me guessing how to do it and one with me following instructions.

      The early sections in the PA are necessary groundwork, it will get to be creative soon, tho the video that helped set up my workspace was worth it just for that, now I am using brushes and text more its SO helpful šŸ™‚

      Of course now my problem is what to do for the last week!

      • Robyn G says:

        I agree Stacey – it’s totally worth it.. we learn so many different things. With PS there are always different things to learn – always, I think!
        I know what you mean about week 4. I’d love some time to play this week and your week 3 is very inspiring – am going to pop over to check out the tute – thanks! Yes setting up the workspace was/is a good one. Most of them are very valuable in one way or another šŸ˜€

  5. coolquilting says:

    cool…I am going to try this!! I love the “painting in progress” effect….and I will certainly check out the link to the tutorials above

  6. svtakeiteasy says:

    Great brush work sketch – like the effect and the focus!

  7. You said “All Feedback and Comments and Offers of Advice Welcome!” So here’s my bit of advice. Don’t stop doing what you’re doing. This is great stuff. I love the technique. It looks like I’m going to be spending some money soon at lightstalking!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Emilio, yes Im having LOTS of fun learning and playing and doing different things with my photos

  8. Pingback: One Four Challenge: Week 3 July | decocraftsdigicrafts

  9. Tara says:

    This is very cool Stacey – your photography has come so far!! I’ll make an effort to check in more regularly from now on (having rediscovered my Following feeds in WordPress). Have a great day X

  10. kirsten says:

    Katie’s painting in progress technique is one of my favorites! It works great for buildings. I think you did a fabulous job with your photo this week. I think you also need to get a discount or finder’s fee or something for all the people you are referring to PA and Awake! lol

    • lensaddiction says:

      LOL I agree about the finders fee too šŸ™‚ Its such a great course and as you can see from my efforts, has really made a difference to my ability to be creative in a new way.

      If people find my beginner student efforts inspiring enough to justify signing up for the course, then Im pretty stoked about that anyway!

      • kirsten says:

        You left the “beginner” stage quite awhile ago. Your work has been amazing. I’m always amazed at the work in the magazine, but they seem so far beyond my limited skills. But one day maybe both of us will have art in there!

      • lensaddiction says:

        My goal is to make something magazine worthy and then hopefully the next level is to have someone be prepared to pay money for my work!

        I look at the stuff on the FB feed and I know Im still a beginner šŸ™‚ But Im on the right path to change that.

      • kirsten says:

        That’s exactly how I feel! I just finished putting some of my work up on Fine art America to sell to help me raise money for the Australia trip. That way my friends and family can get some of my photography in exchange for their donation towards my trip šŸ™‚

  11. Amazing edit, I really love this.

  12. If you want to get a painted effect look for the style of brush you want on google add open the brush though the photoshop brush panel. Select a low opacity and add a layer mask. You may also want to add a texture layer to the bottom as well. with the brush paint via the layer mask with the brush to get the painted effect.

    What you Bodge together is pretty good and the colour lines give a slight mix media feel. Nice work.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Ben, it didnt occur to me to google for free brushes in the style I wanted. I realised later that I should have put it on a bigger canvas, probably textured and that would have eliminated the hard edges of the original image. So many things to learn!

      • Most of my brushes I have googled or made myself.

      • lensaddiction says:

        Thanks I had a good session at lunchtime and came up with LOADS and DeviantArt is a good source for lots of free stuff and some people are pretty relaxed about commercial use rules which is nice.

        Thanks for the inspiration, Im currently doing the classes that teach you how to make your own which looks like all kinds of fun too šŸ™‚

      • I am glad I have been able to help. I really appreciate the work the Deviantart guys do, and sharing back in kind is the best way to pay back.

      • lensaddiction says:

        Yes some of them are extremely talented!

  13. Great work Stacey. I do love both images. You are really getting a lot out of your courses.

  14. Really like the sketchy look of the the one you did now that you’re a pro! (And I like how that you gave the instructions – using a white grungy brush would never have occurred to me!)

    • lensaddiction says:

      No pro here, Im still on Lesson 1 of Awake LOL Still got the rest of the year to go!

      The painting with white was something Sebastian talks about where you fill with black and paint the image IN rather than masking the background OUT – its the same end effect but approached mentally in a different way, and a useful lesson.

  15. afairymind says:

    This is a really great edit. šŸ™‚ I keep thinking I ought to take a few Photoshop courses – seeing your edits reinforces that thought!

    • lensaddiction says:

      The Photoshop Artistry course isnt like anything I have seen out there in the general training world – rather than teaching you the tools of PS, it teaches you HOW to use them creatively and thats where the magic happens šŸ™‚

      • afairymind says:

        I think I’d like to try that. I’m getting my head around most of the tools now, but knowing exactly how to use them to create the image that I really want is another thing entirely!

      • lensaddiction says:

        yes a tool is a tool and does what it does but using it to do creative things! Yes that something that I havent seen taught elsewhere and its quite good because you only learn what tools you need to do a thing – usually a couple of different ways tho. I am using keyboard shortcuts all over the place now LOL

  16. very nice! I like that painting in progress technique!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

