One Four Challenge – July wk 4

Watercolour effect on canvas – Click to Embiggen It shows up all the fine paint details on the big view

So here we are for the final big reveal of July with Wk 4 of the One Four Challenge!

I appear to be coming down with a cold today (my first one this winter tho) and am somewhat lacking in artistic brainpower.  Therefore my last image for this month is similar to last weeks, however this time it actually uses proper water colour brushes like it was supposed to all along 🙂  Please view in big size to see the wonderful detail.

Post Processing Steps:

1.  Make a white background bigger than the original image and apply a canvas filter effect.

2.  Bring in the cityscape image and duplicate – on Layer 2 run Find edges filter, and desaturate

Add a mask, fill with black and paint with white with soft brush to remove the black outline on the Find Edges layer.

3.  On Layer 3 also add a mask, fill with black and using large water colour brushes – several different ones, rotating them around and using different opacities, paint in the coloured image til happy with end result.

4.  Find a paint splatter brush and tap in a couple of splatters for added effect.

There you go, I hope you enjoyed my learning experience with this technique.

This month I used the image from a coworker T to encourage her to venture into the fun world of post processing, T thanks for your lovely image and I hope you liked my efforts.

Here is a Slideshow of all my Images for this months Challenges – All Comments and Feedback Welcome!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to One Four Challenge – July wk 4

  1. loisajay says:

    I think this might be my favorite. We have a huge residential complex being built downtown, and the architect’s rendering looks almost exactly like this. So there you go–approved by the pros! 🙂

  2. leecleland says:

    Yep I go with this weeks too. Your friend should be amazed at the different looks you gave her photo and they are all so different. I can see a big learning curve happening just in these 4 weeks.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes its been a challenge but a great learning experience and fun too. Im really happy with how the last version came out in comparison to my earlier goes.

  3. Robyn G says:

    Yes. This week is my favourite too. Great work Stacey! 😀
    I love the use of the watercolour with the wider canvas. Very appealing.
    I must tell you I experimented with your techniques from last week – not successfully for me, but it was a very interesting and fun trial.
    I bet your friend has enjoyed watching her image ‘morph’ this month.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Glad to hear to had a try, it’s harder to do than you realise but fun and when it works it looks great. Yes the wider canvas was a necessity this time round

  4. svtakeiteasy says:

    Great result Stacey and I am really interested in the process you followed. Good learning for me! Week 4 is my favourite!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Chris, yes its been a great learning experience for me this month which is what the Challenge is all about really 🙂

  5. Great edits and I think you did such a great job by showing your friend all the different possibilities. My favorite is Week 1, because it shows how simple touches can improve the image.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes Week 1 is actually the key image because everything came from that first edit. I agree, small necessary changes make a huge difference, everything else is just decoration 🙂

  6. Lynne Ayers says:

    VERY nice on the watercolour effect. It ties for me with week 1 where you did some good edits to bring the image together.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Lynne, yes Wk 1 was the necessary step to set the image up for all the fun stuff to happen 🙂

  7. Pingback: One Four Challenge: July Week 4 | decocraftsdigicrafts

  8. This is amazing work Stacey. I must say this week is my favourite. I must experiment a lot more with Photoshop. You have inspired me. Keep warm and drink lots. We have colds going around here too. It is hard for us as some days like yesterday are very spring like and then the next days are freezing. Take care

    • lensaddiction says:

      Im back at work today, feeling about 90% OK, mainly a headache that wont go away 😦 Still it was nice to spend a day on the sofa or playing with photoshop when I felt a bit more up to it. We have had the same alternating weather which makes it hard to adjust, I have a blanket tucked under my desk at work for the very cold days!

  9. I like this week’s image best, but I also really like to read about how you processed each week’s image. I’ll have to try some of your effects on some of my next contributions to this challenge!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Im glad my explanations are useful, I never know if anyone reads them or even cares that I put them there so YAY 🙂 Good luck with your experiments!

  10. I really like week four’s image, it is combination of the whole months work wrapped into one.

    • lensaddiction says:

      It really is, a LOT of learning went into this image and you can see it across the month, I am glad I used it, its not my normal style and I need to move outside of my comfort zone there more often I think. Thanks Ben.

  11. I do love the watercolour!!

  12. Stacey, I’m with Ben and with almost everyone else who commented this week. But there is certainly something to be admired in each week, including week one and the original image. You started with a very strong image and just got better each week. Great work!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Emilio – it was a great image choice, I hope T is happy with the creations I made for her and gets the enthusiasm to tackle something like Lightroom with her photos 🙂

  13. Carol says:

    Definitely week 4 – I don’t think your oncoming cold overcame your artistic abilities at all!

    • lensaddiction says:

      LOL thanks Carol, I already knew the how, I just needed to do it with the right tools this time around 🙂

  14. afairymind says:

    This week’s edit is definitely my favourite, though they’ve all been brilliant! Your friend must be amazed by the different things you’ve done with the image. 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes she was a bit embarrased when I told her I had used it but when I showed her even just the difference running LR over it made, I think she was interested 🙂

  15. kirsten says:

    This is my favorite one by far. Great job. I can see you applying all the Photoshop Artistry stuff and then taking it one step further with your own twists 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Kirsten, yes a lot of good learnings came out of this, I have a truckload of water colour brushes now so Im all set there, just need to figure out how to organise and sort them into palettes that make sense 🙂

      • kirsten says:

        I’m having the worst time organizing all my brushes too. Do they go over that at all in the Awake classes?

      • lensaddiction says:

        No its partly covered in Part 3 of Mod 3 where SM shows us how to create brushes, and save them and import them. What I need to know is how to take the ones I have and save in meaningful groups – I will google it and if that doesnt work, then reach out to the FB group 🙂

        I have a lot I want to have around but not clogging up for every day, but I dont want to remove them or I will forget they are there and then not use them.

      • kirsten says:

        I know how to save them as sets. Maybe I will go through and pick my favorites out of my sets and make a “fav Rave Brush set” 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

