Focussing on Cat Faces

Cognac Horizontal Version – Click to Embiggen

Something Different!  Something not a building!

A lady in my Awake course posted this excellent portrait of a cat done using in part some watercolour brushes and I thought it was EXCELLENT.  Of course I wanted to try it and once I had the right brushes I had a go yesterday.

The top image is my first go, it got lots of excellent feedback, mainly that people wanted to see more of his face and ears.  Problem was I cropped the ears in shot as I was just focussing on his face and eyes.

Therefore Take #2 was required.  I also wasn’t as happy with the indirect gaze so wanted to change that too.

Cognac aged 4 months approx – Click to Embiggen

This was my second go – still not happy with the colour balance on his right side, his white body causes a big bright patch and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out how to fix it despite a range of creative experiments.

So I added the vertical text (another first) toning the colour in to match with the background shades of the image, hopefully to give a bit more visual weight there.

Just the usual layers, masks and lots of brush painting going on.  Using different sizes and shapes of brush with different opacities really builds up a sense of depth and layering of the paint, which I enjoy.

I like the first one for the negative space and the second one for the chaotic background – Which Do You Like and Why?

All Feedback, Comments and Helpful Tips Welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Cats, LR & Photoshop and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Focussing on Cat Faces

  1. I just love the blue eyes in the first image. Actually the colour patch on his face is a pleasing shape. I find the second one a little fussy if you know what I mean. Great job though. You are inspiring me to work more on my Photoshop skills

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Raewyn, I liked just the focus on the face and eyes too in the first one but you cant please everyone all of the time, apparently 🙂

      I never thought I would be the person having fun with Photoshop and Ive only done 2 of the advanced lessons LOL

  2. afairymind says:

    I like the first one best. Those blue eyes are really striking and I like all the negative space. 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

