AWAKE Session 2 – Zombies

Click to Embiggen

This image combines elements of two Awake Sessions – 2 Winter Soul where we combine elements and blend into a cohesive whole, and Whimsical or Scary – I went with Scary I guess πŸ™‚

Winter Soul showed us how an artist pasted large heavily feathered elements into a scene and then selected the key element and then blended it in with textures etc to make it a whole image.

I struggled with this concept because I couldn’t find enough images that had the same colour palette and tonings and subject matter to work.Β  While I was wandering through my library of images looking for something else I found the Zombie Run images I captured last year.Β Β  There was also a city centre scene with lots of trees as well that matched the zombie backgrounds so I had a go.

Note this is the FIRST time I have ever sucessfully managed to use PS to select an image completely and properly, being able to add and subtract the bits that I wanted – an ability I had been deeply frustrated at not knowing how to do!!!

Post Processing Steps:

1.Β  Identify the right images and bring into PS

2.Β  Take the city background, desaturate the colours a bit, bring in a grunge texture and a second one to give it the zombie feel.

3.Β  Select the group of zombies and paste into the image, tidying up the edges.Β  Desaturate them a bit too.

4.Β  Select the nun and bring her in in front of the group, and desaturate a bit.

For both zombie layers – lower opacity a smidge to make them slightly less THERE

5.Β  Bring in a grunge layer and blend

6.Β  Find the paint dribble brush and size to fit, play with colours til I got the right red and stamp in some big blood splots and a couple of smaller ones to fill the gap – blend with hard light from memory

7.Β  Add a grunge framing to darken up the edges and add to over all feel.

Lots of learning and experimenting went on here but I had fun too πŸ™‚

All comments, feedback and suggestions welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, LR & Photoshop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to AWAKE Session 2 – Zombies

  1. desleyjane says:

    Wow, thats great processing! Love it. And congrats on being successful!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks DJ, in reality its not the most amazing job but I am concious of not wanting to overwork things, and for me its about the learning experience and making an image Im happy with, rather than a perfect one πŸ™‚

  2. Cool result. I like it a lot.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes its a bit different from my usual work but fun to make once I figured out what images to use to combine πŸ™‚

  3. You did good, Stacey. How long have you been taking this course and practicing?

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Emilio – I signed up for the first level course which is the Photoshop Artistry at Xmas time and over the Xmas holidays I did the first two modules. Then I had to take a break due to being a part time student and full time worker until June when I sat my exam.

      Then I got stuck into starting Mod 3 (which has 4 modules inside it and each module has at least 4 vids in it) when they released the Awake course. So I have been balancing working my way through Mod 3 of PA and so far I have completed the first two Sessions of Awake. Still have Mod 4 of PA to finish for that course too!

      So before Dec last year I had never truly been able to use Photoshop with any knowledge or ability, and I have probably invested 2 solid months of effort.

      For anyone seriously wanting to use PS in a way thats useful for photographers I really do recommend the Photoshop Artistry course cos it focusses on the things you really need to be able to do and use. The link is in my Blog Roll FYI

      Personally I wasn’t sure about the whole grunge aesthetic but I have learned to love it as it doesnt have to be dark and industrial, it can be light and fluffy and butterflies if that is your preference, and that is the real strength of this course in that it gives you the tools and knowledge to enable to you to create in a way that suits you.

      The Awake course is based on the PA concepts but dives really deep in more specifics of HOW different images are created – it takes images made by professional artist and deconstructs them then takes you through how to do the process yourself, step by step. Its really educational. Not every part of it spins my wheels but there is so much that you can take what you need or like and work from there.

      Sorry for the long reply but as you can tell I am really enjoying using my brain for fun and creative stuff rather than stodgy business study (which has also been fun but in a different way) and when you find something that really inspires you its hard to shut up about it sometimes LOL.

      Hopefully my work will speak for itself as far as the quality of my learning journey!

      • I think part of being a woman is not being able to give a quick answer. It seems all you women have to go into detail. But I guess it goes with the territory. Good thing I was actually interested in the answer to my question or I might have gotten that glazed look and started yawning. Anyway, thank you for your detailed response, seriously. I just paid for a tutorial from the guy who taught me most everything on Lightroom and I am very happy with the way he explains and shows everything. But I only watched the first episode last night and wasn’t quite blown away. So I might be in the market for a better course after I finish his- but he does warn at the very beginning that he is going to start with the very basics- which was just showing everything that I already do in lightroom. So thank you again for taking the time to reply to my question and your going into extreme detail did not really bother me as I am married and used to showing interest- even feigned interest! πŸ™‚

      • lensaddiction says:

        LOL your email was as long and detailed as mine !

        I have also taken a Lightroom course from Eye Voyage which I enjoyed.

        I also bought a years subscription to Dave Cross who teaches all things Photoshop but only dipped my toe into that.

      • My main problem is importing images into photoshop. Talk about basic. But I think all these instructors think we already know how to do this. I don’t! And until I learn how to get more than one image at a time into photoshop I’m at a slight disadvantage.

      • lensaddiction says:

        I dont use PS to import my images, I use LR cos thats what it was designed for. Once they are in my hard drive directory then you can just drag and drop files as you need into PS and wallah πŸ™‚

  4. leecleland says:

    Totally understand your frustration of not being able to pick the parts you want to use from an image. I mightn’t like the actual subject matter (who cares) but I love what you are learning and how you have put it together. I’m enjoying seeing your processes Stacey, thanks.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Lee, it really is a learning experience and writing it out helps me remember and also have a reference to come back to. The subject matter is not to everyones taste but I tell you that zombie run shoot was some of the best fun I had with my camera in a long time too.

  5. Great work. Love your subjects. I am working on it. But it is time as well.

  6. woldham says:

    wow! when did you get to take a photo of my family?

    <:0)

    Cheers, bill

  7. kirsten says:

    You did a fantastic job with this piece. Selections can be tricky beasts! The experts act like the refine edge tool is the easiest thing in the world to use, but I still don’t do so well with it. I got the Dave Cross class that gets into the nitty gritty of selections. I’m looking forward to starting that one πŸ™‚

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

