Touring Tasmania – Huon Peninsula and Cygnet

St Josephs Church – Click to Embiggen

Map of Huon Peninsula – link to Google Maps

I had spoken to a lovely parking warden lady in Hobart, she had recommended if I wanted to see good quality old colonial buildings then Cygnet was the place to go.

Unfortunately it was raining on and off and fairly heavily when I got there, so took shelter in a nearby tiny but warm cafe and attempted to drown myself in a hearty bowl of chicken and vegetable soup.  I really like soup but I didn’t finish the bowl there was so much!

I wandered the Main Street (possibly the only one in Cygnet), into the Museum which was a lovely and thorough introduction to the history of the area.  There is also a chocolate shop but I had some already waiting in the car for me.

Finally the weather let up a bit and I was able to walk up the hill to where three lovely old buildings were waiting.  Above is the church, this was the only decent angle (there is a hospital in the background and a carpark off to the right.  It has such striking lines and with the painted white bricks stood out from the gloomy sky.

Roses were planted all around and were in good bloom, I guess its a bit milder so they bloom later than in NZ.

This lovely brick manor house sat on the crest of the hill, power and phone lines ran into it and a car was parked on one side so happily, I think it is well lived in, certainly judging by the carefully maintained exterior.

Cygnet Manor House – Click to Embiggen

This was a smaller and less elaborate version but still a beautiful and well preserved house, and also appears to be lived in, another car parked off to the side of this too.

I carried on driving through up to the Huon Valley which was quite beautiful in the patches of sunlight that came and went.  Apple orchards were everywhere, and many self seeded trees lined the roadside, loaded with fruit.  It is clearly a fertile and lovely place to live.  By now I was rather tired of driving and the weather so decided to carry on home to Hobart.  Once I got to the highway it rained heavily most of the way back to the city, so I didn’t go up Mt Wellington like I had planned.

Roadside Cliff

As you drive up out of the Huon Valley you pass over some ridges before heading back to Hobart.  At a particularly high point there is a big corner curving to the right and down the hill and it curves around this huge exposed rock cliff.

For a nice change, there was a large pull over area right there, so I stopped and captured this image.  I think the grooves are cut in too funnel water down.  It must have been at least 100m to the top and at least 150m wide, it was a really impressive sight.

And so I pointed the small silver rental home towards Hobart and the wonderful thought of opening and enjoying these delicious morsels (and they were too, some of the BEST chocolates I have ever eaten!)

So for a nice change, some actual photography and not artistic mucking around in PS 🙂

Stay tuned for my next exciting installment in Touring Tasmania – Richmond Village and a miniature version of Colonial Hobart!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Touring Tasmania – Huon Peninsula and Cygnet

  1. leecleland says:

    I love it when people care enough to look after our historical homes such as these. That cliff face must have been impressive, I wonder if the grooves where made by jackhammers cutting the road through. A lot of old roads in Australia have these sort of grooves in the rocks but none I’ve seen as large as this one.

    • lensaddiction says:

      The cliff face WAS impressive, I didnt think about the jackhammers, the road was clearly cut well into it, so you are probably right.

      Yes the nice parking lady commented that the houses in Cygnet were worth seeing as they were well taken care of, and she was right. I agree its nice to see them occupied and the heritage carrying on.

  2. Those chocolates look so inviting. Nice shots and tour

  3. Bastet says:

    What a lovely place … and those chocolates … I’d murder for a box of those 😉

  4. KatrinaK says:

    I like those houses. We went to see trees rather than buildings when we went to the Huon Peninsula. Huon Pines are very old and rather interesting and I don’t regret going to see them, but I wish we’d had time to see those lovely buildings as well.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

