Am I In The LOTR Film Set?

Aoraki or Mt Cook – click to embiggen

Once you get into alpine country in the South Island every where you turn or stop there is a stunning vista.  The image above is the usually shy Mt Cook or Aoraki – our tallest peak and in the many times I have driven past this is the FIRST time it wasn’t completely covered in clouds.  This was taken from Lake Pukaki shore with my 70-200 F4 IS at full extension on the tripod.

 

You don’t have to go far, above is on the Milford Sound Road, the last safe spot to stop before the Avalanche No Stopping Zone which goes through to the other side of the Homer Tunnel – I’m standing on the side of the road for this image.

Click to embiggen

When I pivoted to my right, this view above was right in front of me!

The image below was take at the end of the Chasm carpark and the lighting was lovely

Click to embiggen

Two more views along the Milford Rd


Isn’t it just fabulous!  I really felt like the Riders of Rohan would come galloping round the corner any minute 🙂

The air was so cold and yet crystal clear and pure, I think I got a little high 🙂

All Feedback and Comments Welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Am I In The LOTR Film Set?

  1. Leanne Cole says:

    I want to go there, I really do. We just don’t get mountains like that here, our are really funny when you compare them with others in the world. Great shots, I’m so jealous.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I was amused one time I was in Brisbane when they referred to their mountains but all I could see were some bumps that possibly could have been classed as hills 🙂 If you come I will gladly offer to be tour guide and its cheaper than going to the US Im sure – and I hope you have a FABULOUS time there BTW

  2. Robyn G says:

    Really beautiful Stacey. Glorious even.
    I so want to come to NZ myself one day and experience for myself.
    Stunning captures!

    • lensaddiction says:

      I recommend it, was such a nice break from the city, I need to do it more often even if I only go a couple of hours away

      • Robyn G says:

        Funny, I’ve just been doing the opposite 😃
        Being based in the country, it’s been a nice change to photograph the city. A change is as good as a holiday 😜

  3. afairymind says:

    Wow! Such incredible scenery! I so wish I could visit there. You’ve captured it wonderfully well. 🙂

  4. We do have such stunning landscapes and you have really shown them well. Love this series of photos and yes, I can imagine being in Middle Earth

  5. leecleland says:

    Stunning, how lucky were you to get weather like that going to Milford Sound!

  6. Josie Brady says:

    Your capture of Aoraki is stunning! I like the rest of them too. Still hoping I make it there some time before I get too old to travel. Tasmanian mountains are impressive too, but they have been softened by time. Yours are younger.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Tasmania has its own charms, I found the less aggressive landscape very soothing to be in and drive through but there is a certain drama to our more pointy ones especially when decoratively covered in snow. I hope you do make it over it’s well worth the trip

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

