Having fun with Photoshop

Its been cold and I haven’t been getting a decent uninterrupted nights sleep for a while now, and that impacts severely on my creative energy.  Even so we soldier on, if for no other reason that to keep learning new skills.

The Bellydancer was edited in Topaz impression and a disco ball texture layer applied.

Grumpy Seagull was made extra dark and grumpy looking – he has just had a bath and not yet had a chance to comb his hair yet 🙂  This is of my person favourite images.

Grumpy Seagull – click to embiggen

My apricot tree has all of a sudden burst into pink blossom, always reliable first sign that spring is on its way.  I had this idea about blending some blossom images into some text but couldn’t quite pull it off, so here is the sour cherry blossom from my garden providing the background, with the bluebells from Hagley Park (with a slight painted touch from Impression) as the texture for the letters.

Important PS tip I learned today – if you want to overlay an image over text so the text picks up the image (like I have done here) put the image ABOVE the typography layer and then apply a clipping mask – really doesn’t work the other way around!

Click to embiggen

Three quite different images with different techniques used to create them.

All feedback, comments, tips and tricks welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, LR & Photoshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Having fun with Photoshop

  1. leecleland says:

    First one is just fun, seagull is absolutely over the top and Spring is lovely and thanks for the tip.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I was doing it the other way around cos thats what made sense to me for some reason but noooooooooo. Its a fun trick to have in the toolbox tho

  2. Great work Stacey. My favourite is your seagull. He really does look rather grumpy and your spring photo is amazing. We are having a lovely day here but next week looks like a cold start to spring. Keep warm

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Raewyn, it started out sunny but is now cold and windy, more rain on the way I suspect. I wanted to go out and see if there were any ducklings, but maybe next weekend.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

