Awake – Dispersion Effect in Photoshop

Exploding Butterfly – Click to embiggen

The Dispersion effect in Photoshop can give quite cool effects when done well – here is a Google Search with many examples.  You can also purchase Actions that will do it for you in various cool ways, but I wanted to understand how it was done manually.

Here is a cool splatter effect with an 8min video

Session 6 of my Awake course took us through it, essentially you have an image with a good clear background and a main subject, copy the subject to a new layer, content aware fill the background, copy the subject to another layer and warp it where you want the dispersion to go, add on black layer mask and one white one.  On the mask with the warped layer you paint out to get the dispersion effect.  On the layer with the background masked you paint on the subject get the transparent effect.

Its really fiddly and hard to do well, on my butterfly I had to keep pushing out the warped area to get the space to have the exploding effect I was trying to achieve.  Cos it was my first go at warping I didn’t do a great job and so the heavy black lines at the bottom of the wing got too thick, hence where all the black is coming from there.  And you can see the edges of the wings as well where I hadn’t pushed it out far enough.

I may have been a bit ambitious for my first go and trying to spread it out all over (who me?) but it was a really good learning experience.

Here is the original image for comparison – I added some texture overlays to the one above which has changed the background colour and texture a bit.


Will I use this technique again?  Not sure but handy to have in the tool kit.

Like it?  Hate it?  Tips to share?

Tell me all about it 🙂

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Awake – Dispersion Effect in Photoshop

  1. desleyjane says:

    I saw it and thought – wow I love that. And then I saw the original, which is exquisite. Both are fabulous.

  2. Joanne says:

    I love this effect – have NO idea as to when I’d ever use it but it would be great to have when “in the mood”, lol! 🙂

  3. green_knight says:

    … and now I want to go and try this. It sounds like a fun technique. (The more exotic something is, the less useful it becomes, but it’s nice having it in one’s toolbox.

  4. Agnes says:

    This is a great effect. I tried it once during the One Four Challenge and it was quite difficult to get the result I wanted. Your dispersion effect on the butterfly is pretty cool.

  5. Robyn G says:

    Must try this sometime Stacey – great effect!
    Thanks for sharing 😃

  6. Pingback: One Four Challenge – September Weeks 1 & 2… | Photography by Nic

  7. Amy says:

    Really cool! The effect is fantastic! 🙂 I don’t have PS yet, I used LR and Nick Efex a lot.

  8. Cool. I’ve seen this, but not known what it was called. I may have to try it!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

