AWAKE – Genie Lamp Exercise


This is another class exercise from my Awake course, I took a belly dancer image from my archives and found a genie lamp online and used some class elements to embellish the image.

I had purchased some magical brushes which came in handy here, I would have like some more sparkles to swirl around and give a bit more movement and direction.

Overall I am happy with it, as far as learning the technique and the style, that was accomplished.  It still feels like its missing that *zing* tho and I’m not sure what it needs to fix it, or if it can be fixed.

Click image to view large.

Like it?  Don’t?  All comments, feedback, tips and tricks welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to AWAKE – Genie Lamp Exercise

  1. woldham says:

    Hi.
    Would you be able to writ up your version of the activity (and which one it was) and post it in the files section of the PA Facebook page?

    Cheers, Magical Bill (https://www.flickr.com/photos/25818712@N04/)

    • lensaddiction says:

      Hi Bill, I could but I pretty much followed the techniques in Awake Session 6 training – “Regards,” by Marco Escobedo was the piece. I just used different elements

      Im a member of the Awake FB group but no the PA one.

  2. I like it. I also agree there is a bit more sparkle missing, maybe over the magic lamp?

  3. What a fun photo, Stacey! The only thing I could perhaps see differently is less light on the genie’s face – maybe more sidelight instead of full on to give it a more mystical feeling? or maybe just a bit hazier? Just a thought, since you asked 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Its a good idea about the sidelight, unfortunatley the original image was taken with a flash, full on, hence the brightness. I hadnt considered a hazier effect tho!

  4. leecleland says:

    Been thinking about this one since I saw it on AWAKE (couldn’t put my finger on why it didn’t gell with me then) and also think a slightly less distinct face would go with the whole idea better. Love the idea and what you have included here, and I like the shiny lamp I think it fits with all the sparkle elsewhere.

    • lensaddiction says:

      its funny cos it just doesn’t work and Im not entirely sure why. I wonder if its because there is no eyecontact? Unfortunately I dont have any images that I could use that do. Still it was a good learning exercise

  5. leecleland says:

    Personally I don’t think the eye contact matters and agree the learning experience is what it’s all about, just frustrating when you can’t figure out why it isn’t quite there.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

