One Four Challenge – Sept Wk 4

Now its the last week of September’s One Four Challenge, when we save the best until last!

(If you are new to the One Four Challenge click here)

Except I kinda pulled the rabbit out of the hat last week with my painted variation and I was really stuck as to how to do something unique.  Watercolour effect?  BTDT.  What else could I do?

There is an australian artist called Seven Styles who makes amazing Photoshop Actions, and one I have seen used to excellent effect was the Lines action.  So yes, dear readers, I purchased it.

Actions are a bit of a mystery to me, I have used a couple of small ones but this is incredible, three folders with probably about 100 layers plus a dedicated brush set and FIVE different action styles to choose from!

I ran all five of them and this was the last one.  I also watched his How To video which is ESSENTIAL for figuring out how to tweak the image so that it can be adjusted or improved.

Post Processing Steps:

1.  Ran Lines Action Style 5

2.  Added a layer under the Lines folder and brushed in some more lines in areas it was a bit light

3.  Experimented with duplicating some laters and found the Edge Detail layer worked well and duplicated it twice.

4.  Finally decided that the white background was BORING and it needed some colour, so added JaiJ Soulful Sea Breeze as a background

For comparison here is the original version on white:

Click on either image for the large version to view the fine detail

So lovely readers, your feedback is welcomed – Like it?  Don’t Like it?

Tell Me All About It!

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to One Four Challenge – Sept Wk 4

  1. Robyn G says:

    This is so appealing to me Stacey – I would stop and look at this hanging on a wall. In fact that’s where it should be. A wonderful piece of art!!
    I sure could have done with inspiration like this this week. Inspired!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Robyn, sometimes it feels like a cheat or a shortcut to use a preset or an action like this but I had to work hard to get it to look like this, so I am glad to hear it appeals

  2. loisajay says:

    Oh, yes the best for last! I really loved last weeks, but this..!! This is amazing! Ok, THIS is my favorite! 😀

  3. To me it looks a bit as if a child has scribbled on it. Out of an artistic eye I love it.It is different but stll well done without covering up the whole photo.

  4. svtakeiteasy says:

    Well done Stacey, looks like your train is coming out of the bush! Quite fun.

  5. coolquilting says:

    cool effect…I have figured out how to use PS actions yest.

  6. Very cool effect. – It’s “artsy” for sure. – I find it fascinating and yet at the same time I wish that the outline of the train was just a bit stronger.

    Here is the link to my post:
    http://wishesdreamsandotherthings.blogspot.com/2015/09/one-four-challenge-week-4.html

  7. Joanne says:

    Fantastic! I love week 4. Very creative, very artistic. The addition of brushed in content is very well done. I disagree that the train should have more detail. I like it as is. I opened the page and was immediately impressed and interested. Very well done.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Joanne, I am happy with the amount of detail thats there, sometimes making it too obvious isnt necessarily what that piece of art is about 🙂 Glad you agree !

  8. green_knight says:

    It doesn’t work half as well for me as the kitten; I’d love to see this with an underlay of the original train rather than standing on its own. (I find that is a trick that works with many filters, blending them back to the original.)

  9. so cool- it’s taking form from the chaos of string theory (lol) Great edit Stacey! So imaginative!

  10. Nic says:

    Very cool effect this week, Stacey! 😀

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

