Akaroa Lighthouse

Akaroa is a small township on a natural harbour approx 1 1/2 hrs drive from Christchurch.  It was originally settled by a large french contingent so all the main streets are Rue xxxx and it embraces its french heritage.

Last weekend was French Fest, its annual celebration and I was lucky enough to get accomodation for the friday night and took the day off work.  The weather was mostly stunning, warm and sunny and I enjoyed a long walk across the town with my camera with a friend.

One aim was to capture the lighthouse which I had managed to miss photographing on my previous trips.  There were a few tourists around but I managed to find a gap and ask a family to wait for a moment so I got some people free shots.

The photo art above is done in the Anna Aspnes style, we have been provided a couple of her Art Play kits as part of our Awake course content, and I have been wanting to try this style for a while.

The background was assembled out of various Art Play elements, I did the watercolour of the lighthouse separately and bought that in, added the embellishments and a textural overlay to tone it together.


This is the original lighthouse image I started with.
Personally I find creating the background really fun, and adding in the main image element works well.  Where it comes unstuck for me is adding the embellishments, I find that *really* challenging to find something that works and adds value to the overall image.

Do you like this way of working in a different way with your images?  Got any handy tips to share?

All feedback and comments welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Waffle and Burbling. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Akaroa Lighthouse

  1. Nicci says:

    I love the results! Yes, I want to try this!

  2. This looks fabulous. I love this lighthouse. I took so many photos while I was there

  3. desleyjane says:

    Love it! And I love Akaroa, such a pretty little spot. I think your edit is superb.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Akaroa was looking her best on this afternoon, it was just lovely. I had a couple of goes at editing this, it seems to work better with a squarer composition, I had too much empty space for the more rectangular version I did first.

  4. I think it looks perfect between the blue paint blotches and then historic from layer.

  5. Sue says:

    Interesting! I like the calm, restful result

  6. leecleland says:

    Adding embellishments is a very personal thing Stacey and sometimes less is more. I like what you finished up with on this one, enough not too much. The hardest thing for me is bleeding the image into the background so it looks natural, I try and try and often prefer the original straight edges but it’s not what I’m trying to get. I guess like you it’s a matter of trying again and again until something clicks and it all feels and looks right to us.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Less is definately more, because I had a lot going on with the background I seriously considered not adding any, but they give that 3d dimension which I really like, thanks Lee

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

