One Four Challenge – Oct Wk 3

The always difficult Week 3 of the One Four Challenge is upon us – last week’s effort was a bit average due to severe sleep deprivation.Β  I am not any less sleep deprived this week but more determined to make a good showing πŸ™‚

I have used the Anna Aspnes style and elements from her Art Play kits that we got as part of our Awake content, a different colour tone to the lighthouse image I posted yesterday.

Click on the image to view the large version

Post Processing Steps:

1.Β  First I did a watercolour painting of the duckling

2.Β  Created a new image and started to bring the Art Play elements in to build up an interesting textural background.

3.Β  Bought the duckling in – this is in fact the THIRD version of this image, my first had the duckling duplicated and was too intense, the second had too much green background included and hopefully the third is just right πŸ™‚Β  I masked it so that the shape of the duckling was emphasised and stronger.

4.Β  Spent AGES playing around with various embellishments and settled on this ivy strand, with a drop shadow for depth and then finally this white butterfly carefully perched on the ivy, also with a drop shadow.

5.Β  Cropped to a square shape and added one more bit of gesso to cover up some black splotches in the background

6.Β  Imported a cream textured background and blended in via soft light to even out the colour tonings.

This isΒ  a different style for the challenge, where the challenge image is used as part of a composite.

Does this style work for you? Like it? Don’t?Β  Tell me all about it!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One Four Challenge – Oct Wk 3

  1. loisajay says:

    This could be very special stationery cards. It looks like heavy embossed paper, and I love it.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks, the final texture layer added the embossed effect, I didn’t see it til later but decided to keep it πŸ™‚

  2. I love it. Very cool for a special occasion!

  3. svtakeiteasy says:

    Not sure about the mix, but it is always interesting to experiment with different effects. I am learning from watching what you play with Stacey!

    • lensaddiction says:

      I am learning as I go, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t but each time I get a little bit further down the path πŸ™‚

  4. Robyn G says:

    Ok, so when I saw this I went ‘ohhhh’ out loud! Absolutely stunning and I love all of the elements that make up this image Stacey.
    You’re inspiring me πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to get back to PSA!! I’m not doing awake yet – too many other things on the go πŸ˜‰ ..and I want to get out my paintbrushes now!
    The ivy and butterfly are gorgeous with this and drop shadow works well. Love the gesso and the tones.
    Yep. wow!!! πŸ˜€

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thats the response we want to hear LOL This simplistic style is actually surprisingly challenging but when it works, it looks awesome – check out the link to the artists site for some real wow factor πŸ™‚

  5. coolquilting says:

    great experiment with compositing….I still haven’t tried it though I have looked at all the videos etc in the Photoshop Artistry course!

    • lensaddiction says:

      This technique isnt taught in the PA course, its from Session 18 of the Awake course – or you could go to Annas site and she has classes too πŸ™‚

  6. Nic says:

    Lovely, I really like the textured layer that looks like thick paint, all the elements came together nicely, I think the green in the ivy help to marry the components. πŸ˜€

    • lensaddiction says:

      I thought the Ivy as a natural plant was a more appropriate element rather than string or squiggly lines or paint splotches which are other favoured choices. Glad you liked this, I like this particular style myself but its hard to pull off well

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

