One Four Challenge – Wk 4

The final week of the Oct One Four Challenge when we bring out the big guns.

As I am currently working my way through 700+ wedding photos, to be honest, I wasn’t up for anything particularly challenging.

So I pulled out the Lines action and fiddled with that.  The original action gives you the lines but as there are around 50+ layers once the action is run there is a lot of opportunity for tweaking and adjusting.

Click on the image above to view a larger version.

What I Did:

– bought back the original photo in a mask
– bought back the original photo colour tones
– took away the really big squiggles
– added a Jai J background
– masked away some of the grass colour around the duckling

The Lines action is quite complicated, I need to watch the video that came with it to figure out what I can tweak where.  In this image I appear to lost his tail feathers somewhere along the way (they were there originally) but couldn’t figure out how to get them back.

This effect is not to everyone’s taste.  I like that it is different and quite flexible to edit beyond the initial laying down of the scribbles.

Do you like it or think it is too much?  All thoughts and feedback welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to One Four Challenge – Wk 4

  1. That is just such a crazy amount of fun 😀

  2. loisajay says:

    I agree with Sarah–such a crazy amount of fun. It reminds me that ducklings are so fuzzy and these lines emphasize that fuzzy quality that is so darn cute! And the duck looks like he is smiling so he agrees, too! 😀

  3. coolquilting says:

    cool…I have never heard of a lines action! Such a sweet duckling!

  4. It looks as if the duckling is lying sun bathing on the grass! Interesting scribbles.

  5. green_knight says:

    That duckling is coming unravelled in all directions, but as he’s just standing statically, this works very well. (Maybe lower the opacity of the scribbles over his tail feathers to bring them back a bit?)

    I think I need to pick a picture for November, ready to go – I meant to do this in October, and then there were so many things I wanted to do that I never got around to meeting the deadlines. This looks like a lot of fun. I like that it forces you to move past your first or second idea and dig deeper.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Ive tried mucking around with all the masks, its not quite that simple given the approx 50 layers included in the action.

      YES YOU NEED TO PICK A PICTURE!

  6. afairymind says:

    I love this! It’s such fun. 🙂 I’m not sure I’d like to tweak 50+ layers, though…

    • lensaddiction says:

      You don’t have to tweak ALL of them but you do have to find the ones you want to amongst them all which can be a bit challenging 🙂

  7. Elaine says:

    There is a lot of movement in this and it is as if the duckling is forming as more lines are added, though I know that is not the process 🙂 It really caught my eye.

  8. Nic says:

    It’s fun to play and experiment. It also helps you hone your masking skills. This one is interesting, but I think for the month my favorite is week 3 with the ivy and butterfly layers. You came up with some really great edits this month despite having no time. 😀

  9. Robyn G says:

    I really like the way Elaine described it too! Perfect.
    I’ve been thinking about this since I first saw it and couldn’t describe it. That’s a first 😜
    I like the visual that the duck is forming!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

