One Four Challenge – Wk 3

22666408588_bbc1a0647e_z1
I wish I could say that the new posting interface is an improvement but it is NOT – I used to be able to put a link in on an image so you could view a big version and now it appears I can’t.  Thanks WordPress!

(I checked the WP post about this – turns out you can in a VERY unintuitive way – pls click on the image above to see the BIG version)

Week 3 of the One Four Challenge is amongst us – I have been busy painting doorways and skirting boards in preparation for the last of my carpet to be replaced on Thursday so I am a few days behind.

This week I took my original image, put it onto a white background, masked then painted with watercolour brushes for a nice water colour effect.  I then took the image into Impression and added a painted layer on top, mostly just to increase the colour intensity back to how the original photo had been processed.

Still trying to get that feeling of building up water colour layers, its harder than you would think!

Like it?  Don’t like it?  Tell me about it?

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One Four Challenge – Wk 3

  1. I like the direction you are going, how about reducing the vibrancy of the image to match up with the pale water colour layers. Just a thought

    • lensaddiction says:

      I did it a bit paler but I didn’t like it as it was overall too reduced. I hadn’t done the top layer that bought the colours back in at that point tho……

  2. Nic says:

    I like the texture you’ve added to make it look like it is on a canvas. You are getting really good at revealing a subject under all those layers in a creative and pleasing to the eye way. 🙂

    When I click on your image I’m given the choice of what size I want to view… it opens it in another tab and then you can click on various sizes… oh hang on… it takes me to flickr. Just that one image on flickr, I have to click on your flickrID to see other flickr images.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Nic, Im not impressed with the changes to the new post creation format, I have to remember to use the very original admin version to get the functionality I need!

      • Nic says:

        I haven’t created a post since Saturday (and it was mostly written last month to be used as a template), so I’m not sure what you mean… I guess I’ll find out the next time I create a post. 🙂

  3. coolquilting says:

    interesting edit! And thanks for pointing out the inability to click on photos to enlarge…why did they ruin a perfectly good feature?

  4. coolquilting says:

    Hi…I found a way to do this…In the new editor: “Click the image after it is inserted then click the link icon in the edit toolbar. The link field will be pre-filled with the original image URL.” It worked for me!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

