Elusive Beauty of Decay

I was given a lovely bunch of paeony roses and white gerbera as a Get Well gift from my work colleagues.  Sadly sitting in the sun all day for a week, they are now past their best.  Before they went to their final rest in the compost bin, I wanted to try and capture some of the ephemeral beauty that still exists even as a flower slowly dies and withers.  I believe one term for this is ‘wabi sabi’ – info link

The above image was processed in Lightroom 6 and processed with some of Kim Klassen’s Still Life presets to capture the texture and detail in the edges and imply at the faded beauty of the former colours.

Then I took the same image into Photoshop, added some textures and some grunged up text that I felt appropriate.  CLICK ON EITHER IMAGE FOR BIG SIZE.

Did you see how even in decay this flower is still beautiful in its own way?

Comments and feedback always welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, LR & Photoshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Elusive Beauty of Decay

  1. Beautiful work Stacey – I love the old faded blooms – they do say a lot.

  2. ardysez says:

    I love this. I often photograph dead things as there is a hash tag on Instagram called ‘lovely dead crap’ and some of the images are just gorgeous. I love living in the desert where so many things are dried or odd looking too. Thanks for sharing, Stacey. Have a peaceful holiday season and a healthy new year!

  3. loisajay says:

    I think it looks beautiful! Grunge is good!

  4. leecleland says:

    Beautiful art Stacey. Love the way the preset has brought out the sharp edges even more and the wording is spaced just right.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Lee, it was several stacked on top of each other but I also like the effect on the edges, makes them look crisp and crunchy.

      Spent AGES on the text so thanks for that too

  5. katieprior says:

    Beautiful photo, the decay makes it more interesting. Great processing too, it really makes the picture.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

