A Selfie With a Difference

During March I participated in Brooke Sheldon’s 30 Days of Creativity Challenge.  Every day we had an inspirational video and some challenge concepts.  I am horribly behind in creating images for the daily challenges but I have very much enjoyed seeing the great work being done by other students.

Brooke inspires me because she got started with essentially herself and a camera and made the fine art self portait an amazing artform all of its own.  While I am still developing my photoshop skills to the level required, I have also been inspired to work on experimenting with the photography aspect.

Take one long narrow white room, with a window at one end, a long piece of cotton muslin, a camera on a tripod with a 10sec self timer mode  – add your photographer who is also the model and let the chaos ensue!

I had to banish one cat who thought the fabric trailing on the ground was the best fun 🙂

If you are going to bare your artistic soul, then for some reason, I feel the need to do it literally, going completely nude.  Yet the fabric both hides and reveals.   Not sure quite what that says about me but it makes a nice image.

Edited in LR to a black and white and a couple of textures added in PS for some added depth and interest.

Am I nuts?  Or am I maybe on to something here?  Let me know!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Selfie With a Difference

  1. This is amazing Stacey. Very sexy too. Seriously it is gorgeous.

  2. I agree with Raewyn, I also thinks it’s very brave

  3. leecleland says:

    Oh, well done Stacey. I find the muslin both revealing and shielding, it allows enough to be see but leaves a lot to be imagined. As an artistic image I find it so much more interesting than straight portraiture with textures added. I know it is a learning curve but I like it much more than the first one you posted, wow, that seems ages ago.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I like it MUCH more than the first one, but as you say, its a learning curve so I had to start at the beginning. Plus I needed the exposure to what other people were achieving with limited resources and have time to think about it (and wait for the easter sales so I could get 3m of fabric half price LOL)

      Its going to be an interesting journey to see where this takes me 🙂

  4. Jade says:

    Beautiful beautiful image!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

