Photography is an expensive hobby

So I bought myself a wireless remote except the L-bracket I have for mounting my camera on my tripod doesn’t fit it as its for the 7D and not the 7D mk ii.  The hole for accessing the port to plug in the remote is in a different place.

Yes, dear reader, I spent $300 on getting a new L-bracket.  The exchange rate is particularly unfavourable right now *sigh*

Good news is both my bodies will have L-brackets, which is handy.  I intended to use the wireless remote for landscapes and long exposures, so this was a necessary purchase, just one I hadn’t planned on.  But I got a RRS bracket, so it should last the lifetime of the camera and will add to any resale value for sure.

Did I mention the remote cost $90 too….. and that was a cheap one!

BTW I got lots of views on my last post but hardly any comments. Not sure why?

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Photography is an expensive hobby

  1. John says:

    People probably like the photos but hesitate to comment for whatever the reason. I suspect a fear of something.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I wonder if its because they were photos of me, that people are afraid of commenting for offending me? After all these years of sharing my learnings and experiences and steps along the journey, my skin is pretty robust 🙂

      • John says:

        There may be a few reasons, just a guess. Having been online for so many years, I believe it’s safe to say that Americans can be a bit prudish when it comes to body exposure although that may be falling away if you consider the modern bikini. No guessing what those bum cheeks look like.

      • lensaddiction says:

        Oh yes the great prudery of the US and yet the ever decreasing swimwear/sportswear effect still applies 🙂

  2. Sigh, I know. My son is building me a new computer so that it is easier to update in the future. My biggest dream is to have an interactive writing tablet – I saw some in Te Papa for the Dreamworks exhibition. I would love a new lens as well – $1600 – sigh, sigh, sigh. $$$$$$$

    • lensaddiction says:

      Good idea, I did that with my last PC and in the last year I have put in 2 x SSD and a new graphics card and some memory – making my 5 year old PC last another couple of years hopefully

  3. leecleland says:

    Expensive, Oh Yes! I’d love a second Canon 5DMKIII body for taking on my trips but at AU$3500 it’s just not on the horizon. So I take my old point & shoot which doesn’t even take RAW for the just incase scenario. At least we’re not drinking or gambling our money away, we have better things to do with it 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I was lucky when I upgraded to my 7D mk ii that I had got a bonus from work that paid for most of it, so I was able to retain my original 7D as a backup which turned out to be a good thing.

      Oh its all money well spent but its just painful when you have to import from the US and you are hit with exchange rate and expensive shipping costs!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

