Touring Tasmania – Devil’s Kitchen, Blowhole and Lookout

A somewhat delayed return to the tales of my Tasmania Road Trip, this time last year in fact.  When last we visited Tasmania I had been to the Tessellated Pavement.  A short drive over “The Neck” which is a very narrow strip of land connecting the peninsula with the rest of the island I headed to some other must see spots.

Above is a shot directly down from a lookout, I am a good 100m above sea level and its a straight drop down to the rocks, and as you can see the surf pounds it hard.

Looking up and across the bay, back to the Pavement you get this view instead

Down on the other side of the point you have this view, a huge rock at least the size of a bus being hammered by huge waves.  I took several images, trying to capture the biggest wave breaking over it.

As the waves come in, they flow up a narrow channel and the other side is an open blow hole.  On the day I was there it was pretty small waves, so the blow hole wasn’t particularly impressive.  Still I got some nice airborne spray droplets 🙂

Then a drive back through the wonderfully named Doo Town (I never stopped for a shot of the sign and I wish I had now) we headed round to Devil’s Kitchen.

Again I think it needed more surf to be really impressive but it was a LONG way down!

From here I headed on to Port Arthur, which was amazing, with wonderful buildings and loads of interesting history.

One day I hope I can go back when there is a storm, these sights must be incredible with really big waves coming in!

Click on any image to view a larger size.

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Touring Tasmania – Devil’s Kitchen, Blowhole and Lookout

  1. John says:

    Excellent photography! You are blessed to live among such beauty. ❤️

  2. Lovely series of photos Stacey.

  3. leecleland says:

    Yes it is a pity you can’t organise the weather and the waves for the brief time you have to capture them in on holidays 🙂 Great images even so. Gosh I had forgotten about Doo Town and everyone trying to out-doo each other with the next brilliant house name.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Its the price you pay for being on holiday and for me, I did too much and should have spent more time in Port Arthur, if nothing else.

      • leecleland says:

        But the first time you visit a place you do rush around, just incase you never get to return. I agree, Port Arthur has a lot going for it.

      • lensaddiction says:

        Yes theat is exactly what I did and in some ways I regret it. Of course what it really means is I need to go back!

      • leecleland says:

        Of course! 🙂

  4. Prior-01 says:

    the splashes and the white in the water makes each image have a different vibe and the featured one is my fav! beautiful

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

