21 Days of Creative Abundance

Sebastian Michaels, who runs the Photoshop Artistry and AWAKE courses I do, started another course a few months ago:

21 Days to Creative Abundance

With the intention of giving you the tools and structure to change your habits and push you into a more product and creative artistic lifestyle.

Having a lot on my plate finishing up my studies, I waited to start this course, and will confess, was a bit dubious about the value it might add.  But Sebastian has not let me down or led me astray with any of the other classes I have done from him, so decided to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Each day there is a video to watch, or exercises or an assignment to do, to make changes or try new things.  My start date was 18th Sept and my finish date was 23rd Oct so I took 36 days to complete this.

WHY?

BECAUSE I WAS HAVING TOO MUCH FUN CREATING NEW WORK!!!!

Around Day 4 or 5 one of the exercises is to just CREATE.

Allocate a small achievable chunk of time – 15 minutes – and just create something.  Every day.

I have slowly been working my way through another Still Life course with Kim Klassen, so decided to kill two birds with one stone, and use the 15 min time chunks to come home from work, and shoot some stuff in my studio (spare bedroom).

During this time I bought flowers to use as subjects, bought some props, but every day for about 2-3 weeks after work, made some time to just shoot and create some art.

All of the images on this page are a result of that commitment – one that continues.

During the period of the 21 Days course I have also achieved or undertaken or committed to the following:

  •  Sebastian featured the first image on the page as the header image on one of his blog articles
  • Created some commercially suitable artworks to feature on my Art Boja site
  • Auditioned to write as a regular contributor to a big photography website
  • Got asked to speak in November at my camera clubs monthly meeting
  • Got my first paying customer – assisting them with setting up Lightroom properly and showing them how to use it
  • Entered two international photography shows and got accepted in both
  • Started work on a large fine art project to expand and diversify my portfolio
  • Installed Freedom on my iPad and computer to limit my distractions
  • Given some real thought about what I want to do and who I want to be as an artist
  • Bought some new props and learned to be really creative and cost effective about sourcing solutions – thinking outside the box
  • Made my own textures with spackle, and strong tea, oil pastels and old printed works.
  • Went out on a shoot with a local photog to test out vintage lenses for creative potential
  • Am in early stages of discussion with an exhibition space about a potential local show

So if anyone is in any doubt at all of the value that this course can offer, and you find yourself frustrated that you don’t get things started, or you start things and never finish them, that you fluff around and find excuses or are just straight out afraid, for whatever reason, then I strongly recommend you consider this course.

If you *really* want to create art and artistic works and just need a push or a reminder of the important stuff this might be what you need.

Thankyou Sebastian – I will never be a morning person, so forgive me for only taking the bits of this course I knew that *were* achievable for me, but those bits have made a real difference!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 21 Days of Creative Abundance

  1. lmarea3070 says:

    I glad it was a success! I need to do this.

  2. loisajay says:

    I am worn out from all you have done, Stacey, but certainly most proud. Your accomplishments are wonderful–especially being accepted into two international shows. Yes! Good luck with all you are doing.

  3. I have major commitments until late November but plan on starting the 21 days afterwards. I’m hoping it will push me creatively.
    Traveller aka Carol A (Awake)

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

