An Anniversary Of Sorts

On the 6th of June I celebrate 8 years in my current job.Β  I post about it here because it was due to some end of year commission bonuses that I was able to purchase my first 40D Canon DSLR and start my adventure into properly learning photography in August of 2009.

So here are some images from the last 6 years, places I have been, new experiences I had and of course the images that came home with me πŸ™‚

Sunset on my doorstep- Click to embiggen

Norwester Skies – it was howling with wind that day – Click to embiggen

Waves crashing over the Oamaru Breakwater and Shags at Sunset – Click to Embiggen

Moeraki Boulders at Sunrise – my first sunrise shot ever – Click to embiggen

Taz’s pawprints in the snow – we don’t get heavy snow that settles usually but after the earthquakes we had two heavy falls in a couple of months – Click to embiggen

Autumn Colour at Lake Pearson on the way through Arthurs Pass – I had been driving for about 5 hours and had already had to change my clothes once cos it was POURING with rain the entire time, but I couldn’t resist this gorgeous colour – Click to Embiggen

Herbert Cemetary – some old headstones. I saw this shot from my rear vision mirror and stopped on the way out, the early morning light was just perfect – Click to embiggen

I hope you enjoyed my little trip down memory lane, it doesn’t seem like I have been doing this for 6 years but then I look at all my images and realise its true!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to An Anniversary Of Sorts

  1. leecleland says:

    Nice to see a small slice of what you have done over the 6 years and love the first ever sunrise shot with the Moeraki Boulders and then Taz’s paw prints and . . . . . .

    • lensaddiction says:

      Just some personal faves and some colourful images, it’s good to reflect on how far I have come on my photographic journey 😍

      • leecleland says:

        Yes it does pay to go back and see what you took before, sometimes it will surprise you.

      • lensaddiction says:

        I agree, the tiger cub image from Melbourne Zoo I took 5 years ago was quite a treat to find in my archives

  2. desleyjane says:

    Congrats. Beautiful shots. I also got my camera with a work bonus! That paw print shot is amazing. It looks like you e taken it from under the ice!!

    • lensaddiction says:

      It was the second day of snow in the afternoon and it was half melted so when Taz walked on it his weight pushed him through most of it and the heat from his paws did the rest, I couldn’t believe how detailed it was with all his pads clearly visible

  3. Sue says:

    Love the boulders at sunrise!

  4. You have some fantastic photos to show for your 6 years. I look forward to seeing some more.

  5. kirsten says:

    Congratulations on your 8 year anniversary! Thank you for sharing a slice of your photography journey from the last few years. Beautiful pics

    • lensaddiction says:

      Im having a bit of a crappy day at work so it doesnt seem much of an achievement at the moment πŸ™‚

      Yes the photography journey has taken me to some interesting places, met some interesting people and had some real experiences πŸ™‚

      • kirsten says:

        Ugh, that stinks about the crappy day! I hope it gets better. Since I’m just beginning my photography journey, you give me hope for the things to come πŸ™‚

      • lensaddiction says:

        Im working from home tomorrow so that will be better πŸ™‚

        I started out with a Canon S3X point and shoot back in 2007 and eventually got to the stage that I promised myself if I ever had the funds to buy a DSLR I would, and a couple of years later I got lucky.

        I have worked REALLY hard at it tho, in fact I blogged about it and that post got Freshly Pressed

        So I bought this DSLR camera but this photography stuff is harder than I thought it would be?

        Hopefully your journey will be just as challenging and inspiring as mine has been, stick with it πŸ™‚

      • kirsten says:

        Working from home is always better :-). I get to do that too sometimes. I will check out your Freshly Pressed post a bit later on today. Thank you for the encouragement.

  6. A bit late getting to my email, but these are awesome photos! I’m naturally drawn to the clouds and sunsets, but the photo that really grabbed me was the one of the HUGE round rocks at the edge of the sea! Breathtaking and otherworldly!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!